top of page

Dancing


Dancing

For my research project I have set-up my work space to so that I’m dancing as I work. On one side I have my big windows looking out at some maple trees. Swiveling right I have a desk-top podium allowing me to stand up while reading or writing. Spinning a little more right I have my computer desk with dual-monitor computer, I can dance between tasks on the monitors. Then follows a gap open towards visitors so we can interact with no barrier between. Finally, continuing the spin, I have a regular desk on which I have books and papers laid out. I can dance from podium to desk to computer, and back. Meanwhile, if someone enters my office I can partner with them.

I like the idea of dancing through life. It’s much better than just slogging through. Dance is beautiful and expressive, like life should be. Some time ago I wrote how performing simple acts as little rituals, such as serving tea, make human relationships more special, even sacred. Dancing makes your own actions sacred and beautiful. The very action of dancing, expressing oneself through rhythmic movement, is emotionally cleansing and brings life.

When doing chores I like to play music and dance through them (the broom makes a good, uncomplaining, dance partner). Shopping can be a great dancing opportunity, flowing aisle to aisle, product to product, despite the elevator music.

When I’m with a group of people - a social function or a party - my flitting among different groups and rooms is its own dance. Even the conversations can be such. Does one plod through in monotones, or argue and get aggressive, or engage in fun verbal play?

Computers and electronic devices make dancing more difficult. Walking around while texting – not dancing within the world; texting while with other people – no verbal dancing; trolling the comments sections with anger – not dancing; reading angry rants – not dancing.

There are a lot of angry white men out there (some women too). By failing to dance in and with the world they reject it. They just stand stolidly and won’t dance with others, especially immigrants, feminists, gays, non-Christians, the well educated, anyone different. Instead of considering how others have a voice in the choir, a part in the dance, they are considered a threat. The fear and rejection shows up daily in interactions, on the internet, and in politics.

I’ll push the metaphor. We can’t just yank someone out on the dance floor, but we can at least start them tapping their toes. So we want to tune out the anger and fear mongering, and turn up the dance tunes. Start dancing with ourselves at first, like my dancing at my desk, then maybe as we relax we can join in the main dance with one another.

“People are

Soft and supple when alive,

stiff and straight when dead.

The myriad creatures, the grasses and trees are

Soft and fragile when alive,

dry and withered when dead.

Therefore, it is said:

The rigid person is a disciple of death,

the soft, supple, and delicate are lovers of life.

An army that is inflexible will not win,

A tree that is inflexible will snap.

The unyielding and mighty will lay beneath the ground,

The soft, supple, and delicate will dance in the air above.” - LaoTzu.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page