top of page

Reinventing Myself


Take risks. Fail. Succeed. Live.

Twenty-nine years ago I sat on a beach in Belize, stoned and broke. I had a messy past and no future. I had to turn myself around.

Twenty-seven years ago I slung my toolbox into the back of my work truck on my first day of work. I had on my blue work clothes, work boots, with my work tickets on hand. I was ready to go repair equipment – gas pumps, cash registers, etc – at gas stations. My preparation had been a two-year vocational course resulting in an electronic technician certificate. I had to turn myself into a repair-man.

Twenty-five years ago I ran my first ever marathon (26.2 miles). I had never raced more than 5K before. I had no idea how to train for or race a marathon. I had to turn myself into a long distance runner.

Twenty-four years ago I finished my college degree (B.A. History) whilst working full time. It had been my third attempt at college.

Nineteen years ago my wife and I sold our house in Michigan, quit our jobs, and moved to California.

Seventeen years ago I was promoted to operations manager at a for-profit government services agency (doing welfare to work). I wore suits and ties, and was part of the upper management team of a business enterprise. I had to turn myself into a corporate manager.

Eight years ago I entered my office for my new job as a professor. I had recently completed graduate school in my middle age. I had performed reasonably well in graduate school, but had no real concept of life in academia. I had to turn myself into an academic college professor.

Seven years ago I volunteered to help the interim coach for the college cross country team. A year later I became the head coach (part time). I had been a distance runner for years. I knew how to train and how to race, but not how to coach actual college athletes. I had to turn myself into a college athletics coach.

Last year I ran my last marathon. Now I will turn myself back into a middle distance runner.

Take risks. Fail. Succeed. Live.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page